Setting up local USB printer with CUPS via Portainer

I thought I’d share how I deployed CUPS via Portainer alongside hassio. I am a beginner using docker and it wasn’t clear how I would start, so hopefully this helps someone.

I am using the Portainer addon, so make sure you have that (Supervisor > Add-on Store > Portainer).

*and for the advanced users, please let me know if I am mis-configuring something!

1. Add container

• Input a name
      • I am using “rpi-cups”
    • Input name of docker image from hub (*this is just the name; it will pull the image)
      • I am using “lemariva/rpi-cups:latest” but probably any CUPS docker with a raspberry-pi implementation would work
    • Make sure “Always pull the image” is enabled
    • Click on “publish a new network port” and set it from 631 to 631
    • Go to “Volumes”
    • “map additional volume” then set to “Bind”
      /var/run/dbus:/var/run/dbus
    • “map additional volume” then set to “Bind”
      /dev/bus/usb:/dev/bus/usb
    • Go to “Restart policy”
    • Choose “Unless stopped”
    • Go to “Runtime & Resources”
    • Enable “Privileged mode”
  2. Go back up top and “Deploy the container”

After that, you should be able to access CUPS via http://localhassip:631 and setup your printer.

4 Likes

Thank you so much for this. I have been googling for hours trying to find a portainer or docker option for cups. Honestly I never heard of this site, but I needed to install CUPS on my OMV5 (OpenMediaVault 5) server, and your instructions were great.

My setup is not a RPi, but on an old HP server so I used olbat/cupsd from the site below, and now cups is up & running in my portainer.

Thanks again for this, you are awesome.

https://hub.docker.com/r/olbat/cupsd