IKEA Tradfri - Batteries in the remote controls are quickly discharged

For several weeks I have had a problem with batteries that power IKEA Tradfri remote controls. New batteries discharge only after a few days and the remote controls stop working. All devices work in a small apartment, I did not change their position and previously I did not have such problems (I have been using this equipment for almost 2 years). Could this be caused by incorrect configuration in HA? I will be grateful for your help.

4 Likes

hi, old topic, but I believe that I have the same problem.
Did you solve it?

Hypothesis, maybe if home assistant didn’t poll the remotes all the time to ask for battery life, just maybe, the battery might last longer. Someone knows a way to disable this?

Is it just the battery Ikea provides?

After I replaced the first battery from Ikea with a descent battery, the battery lasts.

2 Likes

I could not solve this problem and IKEA replaced my switch with a new one.

I set the battery status update once a day but it didn’t help.

1 Like

experiencing very quick battery depletion here also. brand of battery doesn’t really matter, though the ikea ones are quickest… :wink:

maybe @ggravlingen would know if this is a HA matter polling the sensors, or simply an Ikea affair?

thanks

You may be able to disable the polling of the remotes altogether if you disable the remote entities. :slight_smile:

Were you able to somehow figure this problem out? I put a new button battery during the day and next morning the remote is dead :frowning:

Many Ikea devices have poor quality control. Return it for a new one.

1 Like

Same problem here… sonoff gateway with ZHA as coordinator

1 Like

I thought maybe some chance it’s the pairing outside of the Tradfri gateway but reviews on IKEA website seem to indicate it’s common issue.

I had the same problem with ZHA. I solved it by adding the remote via add devices by a lamp not over the coordinator.